Tuesday, 25 January 2022

Labour To Win: Vote for these NEC Candidates!

Our NEC members, Luke Akehurst, Johanna Baxter and Gurinder Singh Josan have been working hard for you on Labour's National Executive Committee. With the Labour Party's best interests in mind, and eyes focused on delivering an accountable and winning Labour Party, they have ensured that their work is responsive to the needs of mainstream members and focused on a smooth-running NEC. Abdi Duale and Jane Thomas are standing alongside them as experienced Labour Party campaigners who are passionate about making sure Labour wins in every region and nation.

  • Luke Akehurst is a current NEC member, and is a Co-Director of Labour to Win and Secretary of Labour First. He is a party activist in Oxford and and was previously a Councillor for 12 years and Chief Whip in Hackney, and a parliamentary candidate in Aldershot and Castle Point. He is an experienced NEC member, having topped the poll in the 2020 NEC ballot and previously served on the NEC from 2010 to 2012.
  • Johanna Baxter is a current NEC member and lives in Scotland. She is a proud trade unionist and works at one of Labour's affiliated unions leading the negotitions for local government workers across Scotland. She is an experienced and energetic NEC member and the current Vice Chair. She has sat on the NEC since 2020, and before that from 2010 to 2016. She has also been a CLP representative on the Scottish Executive Committee since 2016.
  • Gurinder Singh Josan from the West Midlands, is a current member of the NEC. He has sat on the NEC since 2020 and was recently elected as Chair of the NEC's important Disputes Panel. He is a Director and Trustee of the anti-extremism charity HOPE not HATE and is a founder of Sikhs for Labour.
  • Abdi Duale is a former Labour Party organiser and a member in London. He works in housing for a Local Authority and is on the GMB Young Workers Committee.
  • Jane Thomas, from Yorkshire, is formerly Chair of Sheffield Hallam CLP, and was previously a member of Labour's Yorkshire Regional Board and the National Policy Forum. She has been a parliamentary candidate in Keighley. She was also a Director of South Yorkshire Women's Development Trust, a former university lecturer and has more recently been involved in pro-European and Devolution campaigning.
  • Re-elect Luke Akehurst, Johanna Baxter and Gurinder Singh Josan, and elect Abdi Duale and Jane Thomas for an experienced NEC that will put Labour back on the path to power.

No comments:

Post a Comment